Killarney Hop on Hop Off Heritage Trail
Killarney Hop On and Hop Off Local Tour – New for 2015.
– Aghadoe-Ross Castle-Muckross House & Gardens-Muckross Abbey-Torc Waterfall – Killarney National Park.
Great value Hop-On Hop-Off ticket allows you to explore Killarney at your own pace and visit all the top sights and attractions in Killarney.Enjoy the sights and fascinating facts with a live or audio guided tour.
Tour departs Deros Tours,22 Main Street,Killarney at
Download this time table if You like.
Times of departure from our office at 22 Main Street,Killarney –
7 days a week April 1st to Oct 31st 2015.
Torc Waterfall is approximately 7 kilometres from Killarney Town and approx 2.5 kilometres from the motor entrance to Muckross House .A short walk of approx 300 metres brings you to the waterfall. From that point steps lead to another viewing point at a higher altitude that provides a view over the Middle Lake. The path is also part of the Kerry Way long distance walking route and a starting point for circular walking routes which are indicated by a map down at the start of the trail beside the car park. The waterfall which is approximately 20 metres high is at its best after heavy rainfall. Across the road from the car park jaunting cars can be hired for a trip to Muckross House within the National Park.
Muckross House & Traditional Farms
A visit to Killarney, or indeed Kerry, is not complete without a visit to the world renowned Muckross House & Gaardens. One of Ireland’s most popular visitor attractions, this magnificent Victorian mansion was built in 1843 and forms the centrepiece of the equally renowned Killarney National Park. The elegantly furnished family rooms in the upper floors and the spartan servants quarters in the basement, clearly depict the ‘upstairs – downstairs’ divide of that era. The Gardens are renowned world-wide for their beauty and, in particular they are noted for their fine collection of Azaleas, Rhododendrons, extensive water garden and an outstanding rock garden hewn out of natural limestone.
The nearby Muckross Traditional Farms are full working examples of rural life in the 1930′s. Take a stroll down memory lane to a time before the advent of electricity, when all work was carried out using traditional methods. Meet and chat with the farmers and their wives as they go about their daily work in the houses, on the land and, with the animals.
Together with the Craft Workshops in Muckross House, the superb extensive Gardens and, the surrounding National Park, this is a location of immense beauty and historical interest. An experience not to be missed and never to be forgotten. Muckross House & Gardens are open all year (excl. Christmas) and the Traditional Farms are fully open May – September inclusive, with limited opening during March, April and October. Entrance to the National Park and Muckross Gardens is free. Special Group Rates apply to the House and Farms and substantial savings can be made by buying a ‘joint ticket’ for both attractions
Muckross Abbey is a short walk from Muckross House and will take 20 to 25 minutes walk to reach the amazing ruins of the Abbey.
Founded by the Franciscans in the 15th century, this unique Abbey was plundered by Cromwellian forces in 1652. Although a ‘ruin’, the building is in a remarkable state of preservation with the walls of the Cloister and its associated Buildings in their original and complete state. Access is all-year round and is free.
This is the Local Highlights Hop on Hop Off Coach Tour taking in all of the key local attractions e.g., Aghadoe (panoramic view of Killarney Lake district) including the ruins of the 11th Century Aghadoe Church & Round Tower – Muckross House-Gardens (Magnificent Victorian Mansion & Gardens in the National Park), Torc Waterfall and Lake Views.
A restored 15 th century castle which now houses a fine collection of 16 th & 17 th century oak furniture.The castle is surrounded by a fortified bawn, curtain wall and two circular flanking towers
Aghadoe Heights Church & Roundtower Parkavonear Castle
On Aghadoe Heights two miles NNW of Killarney, commanding a superb panorama of lakes and mountains.
An old monastery was founded here by St. Finian the Leper in the 7th century. It is referred to as existing in 992, and a stone church here is mentioned in 1044. The western part of the existing church is the oldest. It was finished in 1158 by Auliff Mor na Cuimsionach, a member of the O’Donoghue family, who was buried here in 1166. The church was dedicated to the Holy Trinity and St. Mary.